Interview with Winslow Funaki

 

Winslow Funaki is currently a final year grad student at RISD. She received her undergraduate degree in painting from RISD in 2016. Winslow is also my older sister. I interviewed her during a recent visit she made to the city.

BF: What is your first memory of art, and how has it affected you up to this point?

WF: My earliest memory of art is from when I was very little… I think maybe 4 or 5. Mom and Dad had just given me my first sketchbook, and one of the giant box of crayola, the one with the sharpener in the back of the box. It was definitely when I was five because you were about to be born. But I remember drawing everyday, sometimes just covering a page in shapes, and other times drawing people or animals. But I think this influenced me throughout my whole life. In both my paintings and my sculptural pieces shape and form are very important. Color too.

BF: Speaking of painting, you got your undergrad in painting. How has the transition from 2d to 3d? Were there every any hiccups?

WF: I think the translation was just natural. When looking at my work, I started with strictly “2d” painting and then towards the end of undergrad, my work began to come off the canvas. Whether that is adding other materials to lift off, or things hanging off the canvas. After college I spent a lot of time making 3d things. I worked on lights, tables, chairs, but all of these things looked like my paintings. By the time I got to grad school there was really no transition left.

BF: It seems that a big switch for you and your work came post college. Do you have any current ideas or plans for work post grad school?

WF: Yeah. Right now I will probably move back to the city, and do apply to a few fellowships.

BF: Why New York?

WF: I like the community there. I have always found that New York is the best place to not just meet people, but to also be met. I have my people, we put on shows, and we put ourselves out there. I also think there is a lot of opportunity. I find myself being able to work in and around art, not just my own, but others. When I first moved to the city, I worked as a gallery assistant, and found my love for curation, something that I had a taste of during my first thesis.

BF: Speaking of Thesis, are you working on and excited for your thesis?

WF: Yeah I am very excited. It’s a whole new experience for me, nothing like working on my painting thesis, but it’s definitely been fun. It’s not really a thesis, but more of a show, and I don’t want to reveal too much for you.

BF: Have you been stressed at all during this process?

WF: Of course! I would be concerned if I wasn’t. But what this process is doing for me is making me realise, more and more, that my decision was the right one.

 

Leave a comment