Contemporary Artists Assignment #1

Moyra Davey

After reading Davey’s “Notes on Photography and Accident” and enjoying it so much, I thought it would make sense to choose her for my first contemporary artists post. What I found so interesting about Davey’s writing was her choice of references and compartmentalized writing style. Reading this and then looking at her work allowed me to have a more profound view of her photographs. Davey’s artwork has been described as paying close attention “to the overlooked, poetic details of everyday life and objects.” which is interesting in contrast to her writing on photography and accident, especially when considering how accidental the placement of everyday life and objects can be. Chris Kraus described her work as “the texture of spaces fully inhabited.” I’m not sure if texture is the right word, maybe I would say ambience? Like a mundane ambience? I’m not sure. Davey seems to associate strongly with writing and video as well as photography. It makes sense that she does, as her thought processes are so complex and intricate it would be hard to not write it down. Overall, I enjoy both her writing and visual art.

Leave a comment